About the Friends of the Theater

Our FOTT Parent volunteers are the backbone of the organization.

Our Mission

The SPHS Friends of the Theater is a parent booster club for the nationally recognized, award winning performing arts program at South Plantation High School.  Our mission is to enhance the value of education of the arts for both the hearing and hearing impaired through community involvement and parental participation.

We were incorporated under the name South Plantation Friends of the Theater in 2006 to support theater arts and education at South Plantation High School, located in Broward County, Florida.

What We Do

Our organization and it's volunteers support the SPHS theater program in many ways including:

  • Fundraising
  • Awards Scholarships
  • Organize and staff concessions for performances
  • Providing transporation to students as needed
  • Purchasing meals for rehearsals (from monies provided by the students)
  • Assist in buiding sets
  • Assisting the theatre directors whenever possible



$4,000 in scholarships are awarded every year!

South Plantation High School Friends of the Theater takes great pride in being able to award four scholarships of $1,000 each to South Plantation High School seniors enrolled in the theater program.

  • Candidates must be a senior at SPHS
  • Be an active participant in the SPHS theater program
  • Have been inducted into the International Thespian Society
  • Maintain a minimum unweighted GPA of 2.0
  • Submit an essay on one of the topics indicated on the application.
  • Four individual $1,000.00 scholarships will be awarded.
  • Deadline for application and essay submitted, in a sealed envelope, to Director Jason Zembuch-Young by the deadline
  • Recipients need not pursue a degree in theater but they must attend an accredited institution such as a community college, technical school, college or university. The scholarship winners will be announced at the Senior Awards Banquet in May.

On behalf of all of us here at South Plantation High School Friends of the Theater, we wish all of you the best!



2019-2020 Directors


Aleksandra Kmiec 

Vice President

Molly Howson

Public Relations/Social Media/Web Master

Dean Kautzmann


 Leigh Anne Gioia 


Robin Case

Recording Secretary

Vanessa Jimenez

Concessions Oversight

Honey Dietrich